Loomio

(Monthly) development review

SVB
Steffen van Bergerem Public Seen by 284

I'd like to create a (monthly) development review we can share via diasporahq and maybe the planet. It should include all contributions to the diaspora* codebase but should also try to be not too technical so even "normal" users should get a vague idea of what is going on. I've already started a review for December which we can continue until the end of the month.

http://pad.spored.de/p/development_review

We can share it in the first week of January and then start with a new review of the next month.

Help would be much appreciated. I am not a native speaker and I guess I already described some things too technical. Feel free to add more contributions as soon as they have been merged into our codebase.

J

jakobdee Sun 14 Dec 2014

nice idea Steffen .. pencil me in,i will offer what i can .. be open to all things 2015

DU

[deactivated account] Mon 15 Dec 2014

Cool idea man :)

A

Augier Mon 15 Dec 2014

Really like the idea. One of the most recurrent problem I've heard is that non-devs find hard to find infos on what is beeing done.

G

goob Mon 15 Dec 2014

That would be fantastic. I tried to do that with DHQ (to mirror what the original core team did at the start of the project) but I found it too much work to do each month and also didn't understand a lot of the development stuff, so it wasn't that easy for me anyway. If some people who really understand what's going on would be happy to do this, it would be a really good addition to the communication. I'd suggest putting it on the project blog as well as DHQ.

I'd love to help as much as I can, which is most likely to be in terms of helping with the prose, and posting via blog and DHQ.

Thanks for the initiative!

DU

[deactivated account] Mon 15 Dec 2014

YES.

Sharing your proposal on d* right now,

R

robertbiloute Mon 15 Dec 2014

Very good idea, I'd be glad to help.

F

Faldrian Tue 16 Dec 2014

Sounds like a plan. If you need graphics to explain textually complex things, just wave in my direction. :)

DU

[deactivated account] Tue 16 Dec 2014

Is it ready yet? :D

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Tue 16 Dec 2014

@rich1 I hope we aren't done yet with diaspora* development for this month so I'd say no ;)

For the commits so far there are three commits done by @jhass which lack an explanation. Some of the other explanations could also need some improvements so whoever would like to help: go ahead and improve the review: http://pad.spored.de/p/development_review

JR

Jason Robinson Sun 21 Dec 2014

Awesome if you could lead this @steffenvanbergerem ! I'm sure help will be available, but someone needs to get their hands dirty and take the lead :)

I can at least help with sharing the posts via the official channels. Will from time to time most likely be able to help with compiling too.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Mon 22 Dec 2014

@jasonrobinson Sure, I just updated the list of contributions in the pad. Still, if anyone would like to help:

You don't have to be a developer to improve the review which is available in the pad (and still WIP).

  • Read the existing review:

    • Is there anything you don't understand and you think one could explain it in a less technical way? Add a note to that description you don't understand.
    • You understand a description but think you have a better (less technical, more precise, ...) explanation? Change the exisiting one!
    • You think you can improve the linguistic correctness of the review? Do it!
  • You are aware of a new contribution?

    • Add a link (to the pull request, if no pull request to the commit itself) to the review
    • If you have a vague idea what that commit does: explain it
  • You still think that you can't contribute to the review but you would like to help? Share the link to the pad with your contacts who might be able to improve it.

F

Flaburgan Wed 31 Dec 2014

Hey! I'll have a look for sure. We already talked about that during the last meeting and on the bugmash monday topic I think.

Y

y.semin Thu 1 Jan 2015

I wonder if this review may be publicated on our devblog, or something else ? And then, will it be destined to other devs, or to each diasporan ? Indeed if it's to be shown to each of us, it would be interesting to set a translation group. I'm quite interesting to translate it into french.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Sat 3 Jan 2015

I added the missing contributions for the last month. It would be great if you could improve the wording and make the list as user friendly as possible. (and as dev friendly as needed) Feel free to edit the review and also look out for mistakes or missing commits. You can also add some feedback in this thread if there is something which needs to be improved but you don't know how to do that. As soon as this is ready it would be great if someone could post it via diasporahq and the blog.
@y.semin This review is meant for each member of our community. It would be great if you could translate it into French once it is ready. I am not sure what would be the best way to distribute the french translation but I guess we'll find a solution.

Y

y.semin Sat 3 Jan 2015

@steffenvanbergerem I first thought to the diasporaforum.org (@rich1) . But maybe we could spread it on D*, so the wole community sees its devs are alive. what are tour feelings about this ?

DU

[deactivated account] Sat 3 Jan 2015

Please feel free to post anything you like to the forum (and in as many languages as you wish) - the forum belongs to everyone :)

G

goob Sat 3 Jan 2015

Once this is finalised, it would be good to share it on the blog and within D* through the Diaspora HQ account - I can help with both of those.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Thu 8 Jan 2015

@goob There was no reaction for more than 5 days so I'd consider this "finalised". It would be great if you could read the review and look out for some obvious mistakes. (language-wise) Afterwards you can share this on the blog and the diaspora* hq account if no one has any objections.

G

goob Thu 8 Jan 2015

read the review and look out for some obvious mistakes. (language-wise)

Sure, no problem. I'll ignore all the many other mistakes, then... ;)

Thanks a lot again for doing this.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Thu 8 Jan 2015

:-D I should have written "at least language-wise". Thank you for your help!

G

goob Thu 8 Jan 2015

OK, I have done my edits. If everyone's happy that it's up to date and correct, I'll post it tomorrow.

@jhass @dennisschubert @steffenvanbergerem @jasonrobinson @flaburgan

F

Flaburgan Thu 8 Jan 2015

I'm gonna check. Sorry to be that inactive on loomio guys, time is limited and there is many noise here... I perfere to focus on github and IRC.

F

Flaburgan Thu 8 Jan 2015

Is "sped up" correct? I feel like a e is missing :p

I think we should also insist that those changes are made in the develop branch and will be available only in the next release. I saw a lot of people asking "where is the chat!" after seeing the merge in develop.

G

goob Fri 9 Jan 2015

Is “sped up” correct? I feel like a e is missing

Yes, 'sped' is the simple past tense of 'to speed' - it's a 'weak' verb. Thanks for your attentions.

I think we should also insist that those changes are made in the develop branch and will be available only in the next release.

I've added 'These changes will take effect with the release of diaspora* v0.5.0.0.' But are there any merged changes in that list which won't be part of 0.5.0.0? If so, I'll have to amend it to something like 'These changes will in most cases take effect with the release of diaspora* v0.5.0.0.'

F

Flaburgan Fri 9 Jan 2015

@goob we don't plan to revert anything at the moment, the chat is the only unknown point, so I think you can safely affirm that these changes will be in 0.5

JR

Jason Robinson Fri 9 Jan 2015

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Sat 10 Jan 2015

I agree with @flaburgan. IMO you can post this.

G

goob Sat 10 Jan 2015

I'll do it now. Thanks everyone! (apart from the puppy)

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Sun 11 Jan 2015

I just added an empty 'month in review January' to the pad. Feel free to add contributions.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Sat 7 Feb 2015

I added all contributions for January.

@goob ping ;-)

G

goob Sat 7 Feb 2015

Oh thanks a lot. I'll try to look at it and edit this weekend.

G

goob Sat 7 Feb 2015

@steffenvanbergerem I've done a few minor edits (mostly grammar). Please check you're happy and then I'll publish.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Sat 7 Feb 2015

@goob Everything is fine. :)

G

goob Sat 7 Feb 2015

@steffenvanbergerem I've just noticed that there is no PR link for the first item under Marco Colli. I can't find any PRs from him merged in January - can you find it?

G

goob Sat 7 Feb 2015

Lovely, thanks. Have published.

JV

Jens Viisauksensa Sat 7 Feb 2015

was so happy and proud of diaspora as i went this post prompting by on my stream

F

Flaburgan Fri 13 Feb 2015

I started to fill the pad for February.

G

goob Tue 17 Feb 2015

Have updated to 16 Feb. Note: I haven't added any of the background/architecture type tasks that people like @jhass and have been adding, as I don't really understand it - but they should definitely be acknowledged for this work in the review.

G

goob Tue 3 Mar 2015

I have updated the pad to the end of February, mainly from the commit list. Would be grateful if @steffenvanbergerem and @flaburgan would check it, to see if I've missed any commits worth including, and particularly in the case of direct commits made by Jonne, Dennis, Steffen and others, as I'm not too certain about these. Thanks. Then we can post from the blog once it's been checked and cleared.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Tue 3 Mar 2015

@goob Thank you. I'll work on the review on Thursday.

G

goob Tue 3 Mar 2015

Thanks!

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Thu 5 Mar 2015

Alright, I (hopefully) added all missing commits and PRs. I also improved some descriptions. While going through the existing review a few things were bothering me so I'll propose a format for the review:

  1. Changes are grouped by developer. Developers are ordered lexicographic by their Github username.
  2. For each developer changes are ordered by date. (oldest commits at the top) For commits which belong to a pull request the date of the merge is the decisive factor. Only commits that have been merged in the specific month will be in the review.
  3. The description should be as user-friendly as possible. (No one knows what “Change disable_mail to true” means without looking at the specific pull request) If you don't know a better description add a note so we remember improving it.
G

goob Thu 5 Mar 2015

Thanks a lot, Steffen. I aimed to fulfil all three proposals when working on it, although I admit I'm not very strong on (3), because I often don't understand the commits myself!

Will publish this tomorrow.

G

goob Thu 5 Mar 2015

ps: I've removed the commit you added for my PR to fix a typo in the changelog, as that was only in develop, so hasn't affected any releases.
pps: I think you need a separate development review for all your commits!

F

Flaburgan Fri 6 Mar 2015

Awesome work @goob and @steffenvanbergerem

I corrected two typos, I think this is ready to be published!

G

goob Fri 6 Mar 2015

Thanks for the reminder. Have just published it.

F

Flaburgan Fri 3 Apr 2015

Hey, time to check what was done during march :)

G

goob Fri 3 Apr 2015

Good point. I'm going to be a bit busy over the next few days, but will try to help with editing if others are able to put a draft list together.

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Fri 3 Apr 2015

I added the missing contributions for march. Feel free to review and check if I missed any.

G

goob Mon 6 Apr 2015

Thanks a lot, Steffen. I've been through and made a few small changes.

I'm not sure my PR belongs here, as it's not a change to the app itself but to the tests. Actually, that's the case with a few other PRs/commits as well. Should they be in the review even so?

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Mon 6 Apr 2015

I’m not sure my PR belongs here, as it’s not a change to the app itself but to the tests. Actually, that’s the case with a few other PRs/commits as well. Should they be in the review even so?

Yes, I definitely think so. The description of this thread says

It should include all contributions to the diaspora* codebase

The reason why I started this was

  1. to show users what "the diaspora-devs" are doing
  2. to motivate (especially new) devs by putting their name in a dhq post and showing them that their work is appreciated.
JH

Jonne Haß Mon 6 Apr 2015

A good testsuite ensures that functionality isn't broken and doesn't break, it's as important is the code implementing the functionality itself.

F

Flaburgan Tue 7 Apr 2015

So, let's push the "publish" button?

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Tue 7 Apr 2015

@flaburgan I agree.

G

goob Tue 7 Apr 2015

Thanks for the replies. That's fine with me; I just wanted to check. I'll publish it now.

Or maybe not, as there's a 500 on https://admin.diasporafoundation.org/. Calling @dennisschubert ...

PC

Pablo Cúbico Tue 7 Apr 2015

This is awesome, I'm actually using it to check who is doing what and who to ask if I ran into a question.

\o/

F

Flaburgan Wed 8 Apr 2015

How did we do for the previous ones? The whole content on the blog, and a link to the blog in the social networks / diaspora HQ?

G

goob Wed 8 Apr 2015

Yup, like that. See https://joindiaspora.com/posts/47b84dc0a6540132a9551634c2c9a880

I'd do the DHQ post like this:

## diaspora* development
### [month in review (March 2015)]( - link to blog post here)

There have been many changes made to diaspora*'s codebase during March, with 66 pull requests/commits from 14 different contributors. These latest changes will be included with the release of **diaspora* v0.5.0.0**, which is coming very soon!

Say a big thank you to everyone who has helped improve diaspora* this month!

You can read full details of March's development in [this blog post]( - link to blog post here).

This list has been created by volunteers from the diaspora* community. We'd love help in creating a development review each month; if you would like to help us, get in touch via the [related thread on Loomio](https://www.loomio.org/d/rcQeDaEf/monthly-development-review).

We'll have to insert the blog post link once the admin part of the foundation site is back up. Please check my counting of PRs!

DS

Dennis Schubert Thu 9 Apr 2015

@goob fixed. sorry for the delay, lots of work stuff…

F

Flaburgan Thu 9 Apr 2015

Okay, blog post created, you can check if everything is fine here: https://blog.diasporafoundation.org/15 and then I'll push the publish button.

G

goob Thu 9 Apr 2015

Thanks, @dennisschubert and @flaburgan!

Just one small change I suggest: I think we can remove 'of diaspora HQ' from the sentence about the RC. I think it's unnecessary as the blog is also from 'diaspora HQ' (i.e. the same people). If you really feel it's necessary to specify who the post is by, I'd say 'our post about the release candidate' as the link, or 'this post by us'. There are also a couple of other grammar errors in that sentence, I'll correct them here:

We created a release candidate for **diaspora* v0.5.0.0** at the end of March; read [this message](https://joindiaspora.com/posts/ff21ff60bb5c0132aa721e4fdb37c9f1) to find out more about this.

(I've also used the guid for the post to help inter-post compatibility.)

I haven't checked everything again, but the formatting looks good, so I'd say 'publish!' once this sentence has been fixed.

F

Flaburgan Thu 9 Apr 2015

Awesome Goob, thank you! I'll publish it soon, 9a.m. in SF and 18h00 in Europe is a perfect time for a blogpost :)

F

Flaburgan Thu 9 Apr 2015

Published on the blog and with diaspora HQ :)

G

goob Fri 10 Apr 2015

Thanks!