Loomio

Account closing responsibilities

CS
Comrade Senya Public Seen by 366

There is an issue on our tracker, "AccountDeleter does not do enough" marked with a "need loomio" label. I open this thread in order to hold the discussions and proposals about the concerns of that issue.

CS

Comrade Senya started a proposal Tue 17 May 2016

Should we add an option to retract comments at the account closing dialog? Closed Mon 30 May 2016

Outcome
by Comrade Senya Tue 25 Apr 2017

We should allow retracting comments at the account close

Some people may want to retract their comments at the time they close their accounts. We can add a checkbox to the dialog for that. On the one hand that can break conversations, but on the other conversations can be broken anyway by retracting comments manually.

Agree - 0
Abstain - 0
Disagree - 0
Block - 0
0 people have voted (0%)
E

Elm Tue 17 May 2016

I agree but it should be then be better to leave "a ghost" in the discussion thread, saying at the place of the comment : "a comment has been deleted here" to help people know that they can no more understand the discussion. If no such message remain, then reading the discussion could become hard and if it makes no sens the reader may ask himself why he-her is not getting the meaning. This should also be the manual behavior when deleting a comment (except when this is the last comment). Now, manual deletion simply deletes it without ghost. Could this be done ?

CS

Comrade Senya Tue 17 May 2016

I do not remember the actual behavior, but it should be then be better to leave "a ghost" in the discussion thread, saying at the place of the comment : "a comment has been deleted here"

Now the retracted post just isn't shown anymore. If decided, introducing such behavior would be done for every comment retraction, irrelevant of the reason.

It is not clear for me if when choosing to leave (not delete) his/her comments, they will still be associated to the id or ie they will be anonymised.

The name from your profile is getting deleted and not shown anymore and your id is displayed as before.

E

Elm Tue 17 May 2016

It is not clear for me if when choosing to leave (not delete) his/her comments, they will still be associated to the id or ie they will be anonymised. It seems from discussion at github that they are not anonymized (I am talking about regular pods, not pods that would have a different code and would not respond to deletion/anonymization and so on).

FL

Frode Lindeijer Wed 18 May 2016

Sorry for the tiny-edit-habit

C

Chris Mon 30 May 2016

I am good with this as long as deleting comments on account deletion is not the default.

I sometimes like to think of the Internet as a library: When you record something and put it on the Internet, it becomes a part of this library. The reason I bring this up is because it pisses me off to no end when newspapers edit articles with no indication that anything was changed, or when someone decides to shut down a site and erase every trace of it.

I have confidence in D* to develop and use this tool responsibly, and without breaking the Internet. Because being able to pack up and leave, without leaving a trace, can be equally important as keeping a record.

C

Chris Mon 30 May 2016

We should also consider what it would look like to have these 'ghosts' lying around all over the place.

Say that someone makes a post, and a dozen or more people comment on it - it becomes a huge conversation - and eventually all, or most, of the commenters decide to pack up and leave no trace.

That thread would then look abandoned. If some sort of disaster occurs, there could be large swaths of D* that look like a ghost town. Are we okay with that?